Project Proposal

Standard

My final project will focus on three major events in Katy Perry’s career as a singer and new actor in the past year: her California Dreams tour, the Smurf’s movie, and her appearance on the show Raising Hope. I will relate Katy Perry’s California Dreams concert to an older example of a well-known singer, Elvis. I’ll compare their concerts to one another because they both wore strange outfits and changed many times during their concerts. I will also compare Katy Perry to Justin Timberlake because both started with a singing career and then were brought into the acting business. I will use pictures I took at the Katy Perry concert, along with music videos and videos from the concert. I also have a magazine that talks about her concert, and there is a Wikipedia page dedicated solely to her California Dreams tour. Most of the content will be text and music, since Katy Perry and the two people I’m comparing her to were involved in the music industry. The story will be told more through music, so it will alter the presentation of the story, although the parts referring to The Smurfs movie and the Raising Hope episode might be more text heavy. It will be a nice mix of different types of media. I will also include text to explain the pictures and videos I include, so the story will not be altered significantly, but it will be in my own words and from my own perspective because I went to one of Katy’s concerts. I will use Word Press for this project and I will probably make three separate pages that connect, so I can have a separate page for the concert, the movie, and the show. I will compare Katy to Elvis in the page regarding the concert, and compare her to Justin Timberlake in the page regarding the show, Raising Hope. I decided to relate her to people who had more in common with her than a character in a book would. I thought it would be interesting to compare the three stories, especially comparing her to Elvis because of the difference in time period. The biggest challenge for me is going to be the comparisons and relating this story to two of the readings from class, but I’ll find some way to do it.

Leave a comment